Adegoke and Brume win athlete of the year award

Enoch Adegoke and Olympic medalist Ese Brume became the male and female winners of the Senior Athlete of the Year award at the 2021 Athletic Heat Track N Field Awards.

Adegoke, with his latest achievement at the recent ceremony at Ebonylife Place on Victoria Island, becomes the only athlete to have won the Athletic Heat award for every category he’s been nominated for since the first edition in 2017.

His first victory was the Young Athlete of the Year category in 2017, while he won the Junior Athlete of the Year award consecutively in 2018 and 2019 and has now won the Senior Athlete of the Year award. the year.

Interestingly, he was also nominated alongside Divine Oduduru and Chukwebuka Enekwechi who finished second.

“2021 has been an eventful year. I am grateful to God for recognizing and rewarding my performance. Thanks to Athletic Heat for this great initiative. God bless you, ”said the Olympic 100m finalist in thanks for his award. Adegoke said after receiving her last award.

For senior female athlete of the year Ese Brume, this was the second year the Olympic medalist has won the award, Diamond League winner Tobi Amusan and Tokyo Olympic semi-finalist Grace Nwokocha were finalists. She first won it in 2019 when she won bronze in the long jump at the IAAF World Championships.

The event also saw Favor Ofili, the African indoor and national Under-20 record holder, win the award for U20 female athlete of the year and next ranked athlete of the year. , Udodi Onwuzurike, the junior world champion in the 200m, winning the U20 male athlete. of the year as well as the athlete of the year in small groups.

Other athletes who won awards at the event were Taiye Ayenuro the U15 female athlete of the year, Iloba Godspower the U15 male athlete of the year, David Aya the U18 male athlete of the year, Nse Imabong the junior world champion in the 400m, who went home with the U18 female athlete of the year award while the coach of the year was Olympic coach George Obiano.

Making of Champions’ Dare Popoola took home the athletic writer of the year award while Sarah Olamide took home the social media personality of the year award.

Special recognition was given to the Delta State Sports Commission, Dr Solomon Alao, Coach Edirin Owivri, Coach Mavuah Esabunor, Mr. Olalekan Oyinlola from Leks Sports NG, Mr. Austin Orogun and Mr. Isaac Chinedu for their contribution to athletics in Nigeria in various capacities.

The event brought together the crème de la crème of Nigerian track and field sports, guests as well as families and friends of the nominated athletes.

The event was sponsored by Ebonylife place, MTN, Yesir Foundation, Maxout Fitness, Gooddeeds, Linkfric, WeShootSports and endorsed by Lagos State Sports Commission and Nigeria Athletics Federation.

Support PREMIUM TIMES integrity and credibility journalism

Good journalism is expensive. Yet only good journalism can guarantee the possibility of a good society, responsible democracy and transparent government.

For free and ongoing access to the best investigative journalism in the country, we ask that you consider modestly supporting this noble enterprise.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to maintain relevant journalism and ensure that it remains free and accessible to everyone.

Make a donation

TEXT OF THE ANNOUNCEMENT : To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401 …

You may also like...