Boone athletes prove themselves at 42nd Annual Six Rivers Relay | Sports

It didn’t take long for Daniel Boone High School to make a major impact during the 42nd Annual Six Rivers Media Relay presented by Watauga Orthopedics Monday at Kermit Tipton Stadium.

In the first men’s race, the 4×800 relay team of Bryson Lewis, Conner Wingfield, Alex Quackenbush and Levi Streeval broke the meet record with an effort of 7:52.25. The Trailblazers won by 11 seconds over runner-up Abingdon and broke the meet record of 8:10.47 set by Morristown West in 1981 by 18 seconds. They even beat Northeast Tennessee’s all-time mark of 7:52.35 set by Science Hill in 1979.

It was a combination of fast runs and smooth handovers that led to the record time.

“It’s a great feeling to see the results of our hard work,” said Streeval, who ran the anchor leg. “We have constant training and good supervision. Everyone was about to hit their marks and give everything we had.

Streeval followed that by just missing out on the meet record in the men’s 1,600 metres. He finished the mile run in 4:11.10, just half a second slower than former Boone standout Adam Barnard’s mark of 4:10.56.

Streeval had already run 1:51 in the 800 relay and looked set to break the 1600 record heading into the final lap.

“I know I was on record pace after three laps, but my legs died to me,” Streeval said. “I had a combination of that and no one was running with me. I just tried to split it into 800 and cross the race that way.

Although the relays were postponed from Friday due to weather, there was still a strong contingent of 34 teams and 308 athletes.


Moments after the 4×800 race, the boys finished the shot put with Eli Penix setting a meet record of 61ft 6in. His throw was nearly a foot further than the 60-6.75 uplift set by Cherokee’s Evan McCracken in 2015.

Penix, who then doubled up with a game-winning 170-05 discus throw, echoed his teammate’s sentiment that hard work was the secret to the record start. He was honored as the event’s Most Outstanding Field Performer, an award named for former Dobyns-Bennett State Champion pitcher Hal Miller Jr.

“Hal Miller Jr. was a terrific athlete who set the stage for all of us,” Penix said. “It’s a great honor to be here. It was great to break the record for the shot, and I’m happy with the consistency with the disc. I want to get over 180 in the next few weeks. I’m really happy with the way things are going. »

Olivia Crigger, a second-year student from Rural Retreat, was the top female performer after winning the triple jump at 35ft 3in and finishing fourth in the high jump at 4ft 8in. She also finished second to Samantha Degrace of Dobyns-Bennett in the 100 hurdles.

Sign up for Johnson City Press today!

The best stories, delivered straight to your inbox.

The award is named after former Coeburn State show jumping champion Christy Gray Dalton.

“I have never won such a prize before. It shows how well the overtime has paid off, Crigger said. “I started jumping in sixth grade and did that for the indoor season and all summer. I felt good when I took on the triple jump today.


Greeneville sprinter Jaden Stevenson was named the competition’s most outstanding male runner. He set a competition record of 10.58 seconds in the 100 and a school record of 49.66 in the 400.

Stevenson attempted to equal Dobyns-Bennett’s Teddy Gaines’ 1998 record in sweeping sprints, but was scratched from the 200. Greeneville teammate Mason Gudger won the 200 in 22.51 seconds.

Still, Stevenson did a lot to receive the award named for former Science Hill State Champion Mark Brown.

“It was the first false start I’ve had in four years, but it was still a good night,” Stevenson said. “I’m very proud of how I did the 400 because I only did it twice in the year. I go to sections to do the 1, 2, 4 and long jumps, so it’s going to be a challenge.

David Crockett’s rookie Maggie Bellamy was the standout runner after winning the 800m in 2:26.37 and the 1,600m in 5:22.11. She also competed in the 3200m, placing eighth.

Bellamy was Crockett’s first most notable female athlete since Marsha Davis in 1980. The award was named for former Gate City distance champion Ashton Bishop Williams.

“It was crazy. I didn’t run as fast as I wanted to, but it was fun,” Bellamy said. “We did three events to prepare for the sections. It was a good night.”


The women’s 4×800 relay was the opening race with the Science Hill women’s team of Micah Lane, Lauren Yobst, Molly O’Neal and Kristina Macariola winning in a time of 10:13.34. It was well short of the meet record set by the Science Hill relay team in 2009, but it was a good win for the Lady’ Toppers nonetheless.

“It’s our pr for the season, but I know we can run faster,” Macariola said. “It’s a great race to prepare for the sections.”

Try the Johnson City Press app today. Download here from Google Play and App Store.

Recommended Videos

You may also like...