Florida State’s Wildschutt leads All-ACC men’s cross-country varsity team

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) – Florida State All-America runner Adriaan Wildschutt was named Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Cross-Country Athlete-Scholar of the Year and leads the sport’s announced All-ACC Academic Team Wednesday.

A native of Ceres, South Africa, Wildschutt had one of the best seasons in school history in 2021, finishing sixth in the NCAA Championships after winning the Southern Region and ACC titles. Wildschutt won five races throughout the year, tying the school record set by Herb Wills in 1981.

Additionally, Wildschutt repeated as the USTFCCA South Region Male Cross Country Athlete of the Year. He is the only Seminole in school history to have won this honor multiple times. His six career selections as the ACC Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week is also a school record.

Selected ACC runner of the year in a vote of the league’s head coaches, Wildschutt is pursuing a master’s degree in business administration. He earned multiple Dean’s List selections as an undergraduate at Coastal Carolina and Florida State.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established in September 2007 to be presented annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Applicants for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 cumulative grade point average for their career, as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

The minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 GPA over one’s college career. Athletic accomplishments during the most recent season are also considered in All-ACC Academic Team selection.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all student-athletes in the conference with a 3.0 grade point average for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2021 ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in Men’s Cross Country
Adrian Wildschutt, State of Florida

2021 All-ACC Men’s Cross Country Academic Team
Nicholas Dahl, Duke, Gr., Statistics
Owen MacKenzie, Duke, Jr., Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sam Rivera, Duke, Jr., IT
Josh Romine, Duke, Gr., Management Studies
Mike Ungvarsky, Duke, Gr., Management Studies
Ahmed Muhumed, Florida State, Gr., International Affairs
Silas Griffith, Florida State, Gr., Social Work
Adriann Wildschutt, State of Florida, Gr., Business Administration
Ian Kibiwot, Louisville, Fr., Geoscience
Gavin Gaynor, NC State, Ph.D., Forest Biomaterials
Nate Kawalec, NC State, Sr., Business Administration
Robinson Snider, NC State, Gr., Mechanical Engineering
Patrick Anderson, North Carolina, Jr., Biology
Will Coogan, North Carolina, So. Biology
Ethan Strand, NC, Fr., Unstated
Parker Wolfe, NC, Fr., Exercise Sport Science
Andrew Alexander, Notre Dame, Gr., Management
Matthew Carmody, Notre Dame, Sr., Economics
Dylan Jacobs, Notre Dame, Sr., Business Analytics
Danny Kilrea, Notre Dame, Sr., Finance
Josh Methner, Notre Dame. So., Business
Yared Nuguse, Notre-Dame, Gr. Management
Jack Miller, Pitt, Jr., Marketing
Alex Comerford, Syracuse, Jr., Applied Data Analysts
Matt Scrape, Syracuse, Jr. Biology
Brody Smith Syracuse, Gr., Public Administration
JP Trojan, Syracuse, Gr., Law
Rohan Asfaw, Virginia, Gr., Ed Psych – Social Foundations
Jacob Hunter, Virginia, Jr., Inter-Environ Tht & Practice
Derek Johnson, Sr., Virginia, Gr., Computer Science
Antonio Lopez Segura, Virginia Tech, Jr., Computer Science
Zach Facioni, Wake Forest, Sr., Economics
Justin Robinson, Wake Forest, Gr., Health and Exercise Sciences
Thomas Vanoppen, Wake Forest, Gr., Liberal Studies

You may also like...