McCabe named Big 12 runner of the year

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. – Junior Ceili McCabe of the West Virginia University cross country team was named the top female runner of the year, the conference announced on Tuesday.

The native of Vancouver, British Columbia, is the very first mountaineer to earn this honor. Previously, McCabe was named Newcomer of the Year at Big 12 Women’s in 2019.

“It was an extremely difficult award to win,” coach Sean cleary noted. “The top three conference championship athletes were just three seconds apart. These same three athletes finished third, fourth and fifth at the NCAA Championships, making the Big 12 the most prolific top three. of the country. Ceili was flawless. throughout the season. This award is well deserved, as she edged out the best first, second and third in the country. “

The honor came to McCabe after a remarkable 2021 cross country season, where she went undefeated throughout the regular season.

Opening his 2021 season in a 5K at the Louisville Classic, McCabe set a personal best 16: 27.8 (5K).

Leading up to the playoffs, she placed first at the Big 12 Championships and was the first mountaineer in program history to win the title. She was named to the All-Big 12 team.

McCabe finished first at the Mid-Atlantic Regionals and led the team to second, giving the Mountaineers an automatic bid for the NCAA Championships. She was named All-Region.

She led the team to the NCAA Championships, where she became an American All-Star after a third-place finish with a career-high 19: 29.5. His result was the best in the history of the Mountaineer program.

Additionally, in week five, McCabe was named National Athlete of the Week by the United States Track and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) and was named Big 12 Runner of the Week in weeks four and five of the week. competition.

Iowa State, Oklahoma State and West Virginia won individual honors in the 2021 Big 12 Cross Country in a league head coach vote.

2021 Big 12 Cross Country Awards
Male runner of the year: Wesley Kiptoo, State of Iowa
Female runner of the year: Ceili McCabe, West Virginia
Male Newcomers of the Year: Ryan Ford, State of Iowa
New female arrival of the year: Ashley Tutt, State of Iowa
Male Coach of the Year: Jeremy Sudbury, State of Iowa
Female Coach of the Year: Dave Smith, State of Oklahoma

For more information on Mountaineers, visit and follow WVUXCTF on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

You may also like...