Women’s athletics all zones 2021: Thornburg, the kittens on the right track | Sports

CANNONSBURG Kerri Thornburg was humiliated – in a good way.

The Ashland Girls Track Coach is The Independent DailyCoach of the Year 2021 in all zones.

“I was excited, but a little shocked, a little surprised to be the coach of the year,” Thornburg said. “It’s always the kids who are the main thing… being the Coach of the Year is a bit humiliating.”

If there were statues for the Coaching Awards, maybe Thornburg should build a trophy case. She was the best coach of all the girls three years ago and the boys’ selection in 2019.

“It was very special because we had so many people on the podium at State,” Thornburg said of the ’21 award. “The kids really stuck with it after wasting a year with COVID. “

Kittens and tomcats did what they did with a disability.

“We could never run on a full track,” Thornburg said. “They worked on our track all year. Even our relay girls, we could never do a full time ride. … Other coaches were kind enough to let us use their track and work along with some of their pitchers.

Seven kittens made the All-Area Team – Josie Bevins, Macie Bevins, Aubree Hay, Xy Holmes, Emma Latherow, Lillian Sebastian and Emily Trogdon.

Latherow won the state’s Class 2A disc title. Her winning shot of 110 feet, 11 inches was nearly seven feet ahead of second place Sarah Keown of the Hopkins County Central 104-0, and she had two more shots well over 100 feet.

“I don’t think it’s in place yet,” Latherow said during the Boyd County-wide photo shoot.

Latherow plans to attend the University of Miami in Oxford, Ohio. She’s done with competitive track and field, but watched the US Olympic Trials in Eugene, Ore., Including the women’s shot put, when Jessica Ramsey took off a 20.12-yard throw (one more shadow 66 feet).

“I was like ‘Wow, that’s a good shot,’” said Latherow.

‘She is incredible’

The state’s Class A team’s final score shows Morgan County in seventh place with 33 points. It would also have been fair to list Krista Perry.

Perry, the All-Region Athlete of the Year, will be heading to Marshall University this fall. She finished her high school career as well as you could want: Class A titles in the 100 hurdles with a record 14.52 and 300 hurdles (46.22), and second behind Kendall Burgess of Somerset in the vault in length. (17-3¾) and fourth in the 100 meters with a personal best of 12.66.

“She’s amazing,” Thornburg said. “She is an amazing athlete and such a hard worker. She’s just exciting to watch.

As much as Perry loved headlines, it was more important for her to represent West Liberty, Ezel, Blaze, Elkfork, and the rest of Morgan County.

“I’m just blessed for all the opportunities I’ve had,” Perry said on June 10. “I just hope I inspire the younger ones to come and know that anything is possible.”

Sevenfold success

Boyd County also placed seven team members – Abby Baldridge, Taylor Crawford, Sami Govey, Ava Kazee, Sophia Newsome, Emma Steel and Lexi Sworski.

Newsome was second in the 2A 800 state (2: 19.02), and she joined Sworski, Govey and Kazee to finish fourth in the 4×800 relay.

Rowan County placed five on the team – Besant, Autumn Egleston, Kaitlyn McKenzie, Kaycee Moore and Rachel Whelan. Raceland (Makayla Clark, Sophie Maynard), Bath County (Emma Hall and Amelia Oldfield) and Fleming County (Erin and Kalynn Pease) each had two.

Sebastian mostly dominated the sprints. In the Class 2A, Region 6 meet on June 4, she won the 100 by less than a second over Karis Applegate of Mason County, took the 200 by less than a second on the All-Area selection Shaelyn Russell’s Steele and was second behind Rowan County Ella Besant in the 400.

At State, Sebastian was sixth in the 100 meters (12.68 seconds) and second in the 200 (25.68).

Riley Brown of East Carter rounds out the squad.

The athletes and coaches of the year were chosen by the journal’s sports department. The team is made up of Northeast Kentucky’s top finishers in each event, as well as athletes who have placed near the top in multiple events, as reported to MileSplit.

2021 The Daily Independent All-Area Girls Athletics

Abby Baldridge (Boyd County)

Ella Besant (Rowan County)

Josie Bevins (Ashland)

Macie Bevins (Ashland)

Riley Brown (East Carter)

Makayla Clark (Raceland)

Taylor Crawford (Boyd County)

Fall Egleston (Rowan County)

Sami Govey (Boyd County)

Emma Hall (County Bath)

Aubree Hay (Ashland)

Xy Holmes (Ashland)

Ava Kazee (Boyd County)

Emma Latherow (Ashland)

Sophie Maynard (Raceland)

Kaitlyn McKenzie (Rowan County)

Kaycee Moore (Rowan County)

Sophie Newsome (Boyd County)

Amelia Oldfield (Bath County)

Erin Pease (Fleming County)

Kalynn Pease (Fleming County)

Krista Perry (Morgan County)

Madison Raines (Rowan County)

Lillian Sebastian (Ashland)

Emma Steel (Boyd County)

Shaelyn Steele (Russell)

Lexi Sworski (Boyd County)

Emily Trogdon (Ashland)

Rachel Whelan (Rowan County)


Krista Perry (Morgan County)


Kerri Thornburg (Ashland)

Honorable mention: Riley Brogdon (Ashland), Josalynn Bush (East Carter), Heaven Carver (Morgan County), Sadie Chaffins (Greenup County), Ariah Egleston (Rowan County), Audrey Evans (Rowan County), Sophie Hale (Raceland), Emily Harrington (Boyd County), Hope Harris (Ashland), Kristen King (West Carter), Janesey Lewis (Morgan County), Elizabeth Middleton (West Carter), Taylor Parks (Menifee County), Bethany Tackett (Paintsville)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.